About Us
About Us
Dedicated to Improving the Environment and Quality of Life in Porter County

The Recycling & Waste Reduction District of Porter County is the local government authority for information about recycling, yard waste and household hazardous waste services that serves the residents and businesses of Porter County.

We are one of 70 solid waste management districts created by the State of Indiana in 1990 with the adoption of House Enrolled Act 1240. Each solid waste management district is funded differently and provides slightly different services to serve the distinct needs of its population.



Porter County Recycling and Waste Reduction is an agency dedicated to improving the environment and quality of life by providing services and educational programs which help residents reduce, reuse, and recycle.



Every person in Porter County engages in an effective waste reduction lifestyle.



We are funded primarily by an annual $20 user fee added on to the county tax bill of each household and business. The fee averages out to a little more than $8 per year per person in Porter County.



Our Board of Directors is made up of the three county commissioners, the mayor and a councilperson from the largest municipality, a county councilperson, and a third municipal representative appointed by the county commissioners.

The Board is responsible for working with staff to set District policies and standards as well as perform as accountable elected officials regarding such.

Additionally, the Board appoints individuals to the Citizens Advisory Committee, an intermediary and advisory panel, which works with the staff to monitor District services and make programmatic recommendations to the Board of elected officials.

The Citizens Advisory Committee members are made up of Porter County citizens who possess a passion for the environment and a desire to be part of a team, which can affect change.

We are currently accepting applications for the 2023 Citizen’s Advisory Committee appointments. Applications will be accepted through January 6, 2023.

Our Staff

keri mars barron

Keri Marrs Barron

Executive Director

allison andersen

Allison Andersen


dawn garmon

Dawn Garmon

Deputy Director / Controller

gabi gresham

Gabrielle Gresham

Public Relations Coordinator

jane jones

Jane Jones

Administrative Assistant

ellen kapitan

Ellen Kapitan

Administrative Assistant

ruby ziembicki

Ruby Ziembicki

Administrative Assistant

steve dolak

Steve Dolak


doug adkins

Doug Adkins

Compost Site Attendant

bill carney

Bill Carney

Compost Site Attendant

jim jaske

Jim Jaske

Compost Site Attendant

jim r

Bob R.

Compost Site Attendant

chuck stockham

Chuck Stockham

Field Operations

don groff

Don Groff




Our Board of Directors

Sue Lynch, President

Mayor of Portage

Laura Shurr Blaney, Vice Chair

Porter County Commissioner

Jim Biggs

Porter County Commissioner

Barb Regnitz

Porter County Commissioner

Sylvia Graham

Porter County Council

Matt Murphy

Mayor of Valparaiso

Scott Williams

Portage City Council

Clay Patton


Citizen’s Advisory Committee

Duane Davison, Chair


Walt Breitinger, Vice Chair


Kaye Frataccia


Julie Peller


Ann Barone


Erin Urschel


Mindy Wallis


Get involved! Join our next Citizen’s Advisory Committee Meeting on July 19th at 5:30 p.m. This meeting will be held in the Porter County Administration Building.

Scroll to Top